When I met such a wonderful werewolf

Bonjour à tous!

I deliberately started my post with a French greeting because this post is going to have a French flavor and it does make me happier. So here we are having a little break from my Asian adventures while tasting some great music, artistic atmosphere (as often happens on my blog).

Where is going this happy post to? It’s still situated in Omsk, very cold but beautiful Siberia where a lot of dreams come truth when you wish upon a star. I cannot say it was my dream but from the moment I knew that Garou was visiting my city with a concert, I had this “I’d love to be there!” feeling))). What’s more, when I got my ticket, I had a willing to make a present for the singer. It needed to be smth magical, beautiful and remarkable. What else could come to my mind if not a picture painted by mе? Yes, except of writing the blog, I draw, I dance…what a talented girl I am and modest most importantly))

Image

Image

(c) – those photos I took from Google seacrh. Unfortunately, couldn’t find the names of photographers. 

So…I started the creation with my muse while listening to only Garou’s music. I should mention that I was not his fan and don’t consider to be one of them now either. However, I do like his voice, the way he sings and I found a lot of his songs wonderful. In addition to that, I am in love with French language and how it sounds. I won’t go into details of painting the picture but will go to the concert-part straight away.

Image

Image

The event was on the 9th of February, such a lovely Sunday with about -25C outside. There were a lot of people in the odeum, the hall was full! Actually, there is no surpsire considering that there are 9 albums in Garou’s discography, he worked in the musical “Notre-Dame de Paris”, perfomed at 2010 Winter Olympics opening ceremony in Vancouver, he is also one of the juries in “The Voice” (french version), etc. I was sure the concert won’t start at 7pm as it was announced. From the experience I got before, I realize it’s normal to be late for such stars. What’s more, French people are not the most punctual as I’ve heard (which is not a problem at all as long as you get used to it). However, Garou was in front of us right at 7:00pm! What a punctuality! I apologize for underestimating this great man.

The highlights of the concert.

Pierre Garand (it’s a real name of the singer, while Carou is just a nickname which means “werewolf” when translated from French) was performing his best with 100% energy going to the audience, he sang amazingly while managed to jump or dance sometimes. He also played different musical instruments such as guitar, harmonica and keybords, which was breathtaking and really impressive! In addition to that, not only French atmosphere was in the air but an international one as the singer spoke a lot of English, a very bit of Russian and sang very different compositions like “Let it Be” (Beatles), “If I ain’t got you” (Alicia Keys), “A little less conversation” (Elvis Presley) and others. Everything was sung amazingly with Garou’s own interpretation and energy. I, personally, loved it.

Image

(the photo is a bit blurry, all because of the great emotions going at the time))

Of course, it wouldn’t be Pierre Garand’s concert if there wasn’t  “l’amour français” in the air. He did mention the beauty of Russian women, danced with two ladies while going into the audience and got a lot of flowers during the performance and afterwards.

It looks that I’m not criticizing anything at all. It’s just me – a girl who enjoys everything and always looks at the bright side of life. However, I might say that the audience was really modest and timid. Couple of times the singer asked us to stand up and dance while he was singing a very rhythmic song. I believe around 20 people out of 1000 did so which was a pity, in my opinion. As about me, the dance-lover, I followed the instructions and therefore got even more happiness! Though I was shy to sing but even here tried to overcome my fear.

And now the main part of me running in the hall))). The first section of the concert I was sitting and thinking when was the best time to give the present. The second part of the performance I was trying to actually give it away, ahaha. I may exaggerate a bit but when I finally made a decision and run to the stage, a security man stopped me and said it’s not a good time to give a present and asked me to return to my place. And it happened not for once!

Eventually, when the concert was over and Garou was standing on the stage, smiling and listening to the clapping audience, me and about 15 other ladies came closer to the stage and started presenting our gifts while receiving a kiss on the cheek from the man himself.  Everything around was covered with a beautiful floral scent as each of those girls had a bouquet for the mister charming. As I like to stand out from the crowd, my flowers were very different from others: a square-shaped, kind of flat, black and white and did not smell at all. I would call it “picture” if being honest. Unfortunately, Garou did not have much time to look at it properly and also to speak with me but from his interjection of surprise, I was sure he was touched and liked it. I hope it was a good present. Also, a bit later I saw a journalist taking a photo of my painting. I don’t know if she was from a TV-channel or a newspaper but perhaps she liked my creation. Anyway, it doesn’t matter for me as long as my art found his owner and it’s somewhere in Paris or Montreal now.

Image

My painting. Canvas, black acrylic. 2014.

I would like to make a point that even though some people may think of this gesture as a small PR, promotion. Of course, a very famous person has my painting now and so on. However, I wrote a pretty short lovely text on the rear side of canvas and deliberately didn’t mention any of my contacts so it wasn’t considered as an advert or any hidden interest beneath the present. I just simply wanted to do smth for Garou even though I am not a big fan of him. It was “From Russia with Love” – that kind of thing))

Each of my posts I am not only sharing the information and adventures I have but also trying to illustrate how you can make your life as a sparkling diamond! Like in this particular case – I could’ve just gone to the concert and enjoy French and great singing, etc. However, with my decision of making a present, I made myself happier while working on this and enjoying the creation process.  And at the end I did what I wanted to do, I also gave some (hopefully) positive emotions to the man who worked so hard and did his best in our Siberian music hall. It’s such a great thing to be thankful and most importantly to express your gratitude!

See you soon, lovelies!

1 thought on “When I met such a wonderful werewolf

  1. Pingback: Paris that you haven’t seen | История Современной Золушки из Вестминстера. Westminster's Cinderella.

Leave a comment